Upcycled Wedding Dress

I was given a wedding dress that had these fabulous hot pink and light pink heavy embroidered flowers on it, so I thought.. hey.. lemme make some bags! This is a set of images of my “TEST” Piece. I’m not happy with the stitching on this and will definately create another one, but here are some opening shots! The clutch is 9 inches long by 4.5 inches high by 1 inch deep. 

 

Clutch 1
Clutch 1

 

Inside of clutch done in pink gingham
Inside of clutch done in pink gingham
Clutch hanging on wall with matching pink gingham ribbon handle

Clutch hanging on wall with matching pink gingham ribbon handle

Standing up

Standing up

 

 

 

My Space… not myspace

So, I took yesterday and did nothing but clean and organize and re-arrange and I’m STILL not done. Good grief! We “de-junked” when we bought the house and here a mere three years later, I’m “de-junking” again. I loathe clutter!

So.. here’s the dealio – 

Our house is a three bedroom, 2 bath house but it also is a split level which means on the main level we have a dining room, living room, kitchen and entry hall. Upstairs (the first part of the split or the upper portion) is 3 bedrooms and 2 baths. Downstairs, which we lovingly refer to as the basement though it isn’t, we have a large room which I’m assuming the former tenants used as a den, a smaller room which is now my office (both of these rooms have french doors that lead out to the frong yard) and a laundry room.  When we moved in, our daughter immediately laid stake to the large room downstairs that was formerly a den or family room or something – however, there was an issue in that this room has no closet.  

Our initial plan was to remove a wall between the two smaller bedrooms upstairs to make one larger bedroom for our son, but our son decided he did not want a larger room, as he’s got his sights set on the daughters room when she goes to college next year. Not a problem for us – saves time, saves construction costs and 3 bedroom houses are more marketable, so I’m told. 

SO… fast forward to now and our daughter has been using the spare bedroom upstairs as a “closet, catch all room” along with everyone else in the house, except… now we’re building a closet in the bottom room… and soon, the middle bedroom.. which looks like the image below right now – will become my studio. In the mean time.. I’m using the dining room to work in! UGH!  This is how things look NOW… I’ll post images of the after view next week after her closet is finished and the middle bedroom is “dejunked” and “repurposed” to my sewing studio. 

 

Current "JUNK ROOM" that will become my studio next week

Current "JUNK ROOM" that will become my studio next week

My current work space - the dining room

My current work space - the dining room

 

More of my current space

More of my current space

My stash - at least part of it - waiting to become fantastic goodies!

My stash - at least part of it - waiting to become fantastic goodies!

 

At least I have a nice view and lots of good natural light LOL

At least I have a nice view and lots of good natural light LOL